Clinical Waste Disposal Durham

Disposal Methods:

  1. Infectious Waste is often autoclaved or incinerated to kill harmful pathogens.
  2. Sharps Waste undergoes incineration to ensure complete destruction.
  3. Pharmaceutical Waste is incinerated at high temperatures.
  4. Cytotoxic & Cytostatic Waste is incinerated in specialized facilities.
  5. Chemical Waste undergoes specialized treatments based on the chemical type.
  6. Anatomical Waste is incinerated.
  7. Radioactive Waste is stored securely until it decays to safe levels or moved to specialized facilities for disposal.
  8. Offensive/Hygienic Waste is disposed of in landfill sites or incinerated, depending on its classification.

At Durham Waste, we take our role in clinical waste management seriously, ensuring compliance with every regulation and safeguarding both public health and our environment. For assistance with clinical waste or to understand more about our processes, Contact us today.

UK Regulations:

Clinical waste management in the UK is governed by a series of stringent regulations, including:

  • Environmental Protection Act 1990: Sets the framework for waste disposal responsibilities.
  • The Hazardous Waste (England and Wales) Regulations 2005: Classifies clinical waste as hazardous and provides directives on its safe handling.
  • The Safe Management of Healthcare Waste (2011): Provides a comprehensive guidance on classification, segregation, handling, transport, and disposal of healthcare waste.
  • Carriage of Dangerous Goods and Use of Transportable Pressure Equipment Regulations 2009: Provides directives on the transportation of hazardous waste, including some types of clinical waste.

Types of Clinical Waste:

  1. Infectious Waste: Materials contaminated with potentially harmful viruses, bacteria, and other microorganisms.
  2. Sharps Waste: Items such as needles, syringes, and scalpel blades.
  3. Pharmaceutical Waste: Expired, unused, or contaminated medicines and vaccines.
  4. Cytotoxic & Cytostatic Waste: Wastes containing drugs with genotoxic properties, commonly used in chemotherapy.
  5. Chemical Waste: Discarded chemicals from laboratory research or other medical applications.
  6. Anatomical Waste: Body parts, blood bags, and organs.
  7. Radioactive Waste: Unused radioactive materials often used in cancer treatments.
  8. Offensive/Hygienic Waste: Non-hazardous waste which may be unpleasant, such as nappies or incontinence pads.

Waste Containers:

  • Yellow Bins & Bags: For infectious and anatomical waste.
  • Sharps Bins (Yellow with Purple Lid): Specifically for sharps contaminated with cytotoxic or cytostatic medicines.
  • Sharps Bins (Yellow): For other types of sharps waste.
  • Blue Bins & Bags: For pharmaceutical waste.
  • Orange Bins & Bags: For cytotoxic and cytostatic waste.
  • White Bins & Bags: For offensive/hygienic waste.
  • Rigid Containers: For radioactive waste.